If my opponent casts Ultimate Price on my Phantasmal Bear, can I save it by casting Snap or Curfew? The 2019 Stack Overflow Developer Survey Results Are InDoes an ability resolve if the source of the ability leaves the battlefield?What happens when a creature with Persist AND Undying dies? ('return to battlefield' issues…)What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?What happens if I must attack with two creatures, but am only allowed to attack with one?Why does rule 608.2b counter Last Word, when Last Word can't be countered?What is the difference between Owning and Controlling an object on the Battlefield?Control Effects - Interaction between Molten Primordial and WillbreakerMagic the gathering changing creature typesLathliss, Dragon Queen + Where Ancients Tread interactionCan creatures abilities target that creature itself?

Output the Arecibo Message

Why was M87 targeted for the Event Horizon Telescope instead of Sagittarius A*?

Is it a good practice to use a static variable in a Test Class and use that in the actual class instead of Test.isRunningTest()?

I am an eight letter word. What am I?

If my opponent casts Ultimate Price on my Phantasmal Bear, can I save it by casting Snap or Curfew?

Why doesn't UInt have a toDouble()?

If a sorcerer casts the Banishment spell on a PC while in Avernus, does the PC return to their home plane?

Match Roman Numerals

Worn-tile Scrabble

Button changing its text & action. Good or terrible?

Old scifi movie from the 50s or 60s with men in solid red uniforms who interrogate a spy from the past

For what reasons would an animal species NOT cross a *horizontal* land bridge?

Is it possible for absolutely everyone to attain enlightenment?

Is it ethical to upload a automatically generated paper to a non peer-reviewed site as part of a larger research?

How can I add encounters in the Lost Mine of Phandelver campaign without giving PCs too much XP?

Kerning for subscripts of sigma?

Why are there uneven bright areas in this photo of black hole?

What is the most efficient way to store a numeric range?

Can a flute soloist sit?

Cooking pasta in a water boiler

Falsification in Math vs Science

What does Linus Torvalds mean when he says that Git "never ever" tracks a file?

Ubuntu Server install with full GUI

What is this business jet?



If my opponent casts Ultimate Price on my Phantasmal Bear, can I save it by casting Snap or Curfew?



The 2019 Stack Overflow Developer Survey Results Are InDoes an ability resolve if the source of the ability leaves the battlefield?What happens when a creature with Persist AND Undying dies? ('return to battlefield' issues…)What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?What happens if I must attack with two creatures, but am only allowed to attack with one?Why does rule 608.2b counter Last Word, when Last Word can't be countered?What is the difference between Owning and Controlling an object on the Battlefield?Control Effects - Interaction between Molten Primordial and WillbreakerMagic the gathering changing creature typesLathliss, Dragon Queen + Where Ancients Tread interactionCan creatures abilities target that creature itself?










1















I attack with Phantasmal Bear. My opponent responds by casting Ultimate Price and targets my bear. Can I save my creature by casting Snap or Curfew? If I had a regular creature, I know that Curfew would be able to save because I would just return it to my hand and my opponents Ultimate Price would have an illegal target and fizzle out. But, I'm supposed to sacrifice Phantasmal Bear when it becomes targeted. So i'm just very confused on whether my bear will lose the target when I cast Curfew or automatically die because it was previously targeted. (I know now most illusions don't have that ability, but my whole deck has creatures with that ability so its very important)










share|improve this question









New contributor




user27103 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.




















  • Can you clean up your question to focus on what you are asking and less back story please. It is hard to understand what you are asking.

    – Joe W
    2 hours ago











  • Just so you know, most illusion creatures do not in fact have that ability, so you should probably quote the exact ability you are talking about.

    – murgatroid99
    2 hours ago















1















I attack with Phantasmal Bear. My opponent responds by casting Ultimate Price and targets my bear. Can I save my creature by casting Snap or Curfew? If I had a regular creature, I know that Curfew would be able to save because I would just return it to my hand and my opponents Ultimate Price would have an illegal target and fizzle out. But, I'm supposed to sacrifice Phantasmal Bear when it becomes targeted. So i'm just very confused on whether my bear will lose the target when I cast Curfew or automatically die because it was previously targeted. (I know now most illusions don't have that ability, but my whole deck has creatures with that ability so its very important)










share|improve this question









New contributor




user27103 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.




















  • Can you clean up your question to focus on what you are asking and less back story please. It is hard to understand what you are asking.

    – Joe W
    2 hours ago











  • Just so you know, most illusion creatures do not in fact have that ability, so you should probably quote the exact ability you are talking about.

    – murgatroid99
    2 hours ago













1












1








1








I attack with Phantasmal Bear. My opponent responds by casting Ultimate Price and targets my bear. Can I save my creature by casting Snap or Curfew? If I had a regular creature, I know that Curfew would be able to save because I would just return it to my hand and my opponents Ultimate Price would have an illegal target and fizzle out. But, I'm supposed to sacrifice Phantasmal Bear when it becomes targeted. So i'm just very confused on whether my bear will lose the target when I cast Curfew or automatically die because it was previously targeted. (I know now most illusions don't have that ability, but my whole deck has creatures with that ability so its very important)










share|improve this question









New contributor




user27103 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.












I attack with Phantasmal Bear. My opponent responds by casting Ultimate Price and targets my bear. Can I save my creature by casting Snap or Curfew? If I had a regular creature, I know that Curfew would be able to save because I would just return it to my hand and my opponents Ultimate Price would have an illegal target and fizzle out. But, I'm supposed to sacrifice Phantasmal Bear when it becomes targeted. So i'm just very confused on whether my bear will lose the target when I cast Curfew or automatically die because it was previously targeted. (I know now most illusions don't have that ability, but my whole deck has creatures with that ability so its very important)







magic-the-gathering






share|improve this question









New contributor




user27103 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.











share|improve this question









New contributor




user27103 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.









share|improve this question




share|improve this question








edited 2 hours ago









murgatroid99

48.1k7120203




48.1k7120203






New contributor




user27103 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.









asked 3 hours ago









user27103user27103

83




83




New contributor




user27103 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.





New contributor





user27103 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.






user27103 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.












  • Can you clean up your question to focus on what you are asking and less back story please. It is hard to understand what you are asking.

    – Joe W
    2 hours ago











  • Just so you know, most illusion creatures do not in fact have that ability, so you should probably quote the exact ability you are talking about.

    – murgatroid99
    2 hours ago

















  • Can you clean up your question to focus on what you are asking and less back story please. It is hard to understand what you are asking.

    – Joe W
    2 hours ago











  • Just so you know, most illusion creatures do not in fact have that ability, so you should probably quote the exact ability you are talking about.

    – murgatroid99
    2 hours ago
















Can you clean up your question to focus on what you are asking and less back story please. It is hard to understand what you are asking.

– Joe W
2 hours ago





Can you clean up your question to focus on what you are asking and less back story please. It is hard to understand what you are asking.

– Joe W
2 hours ago













Just so you know, most illusion creatures do not in fact have that ability, so you should probably quote the exact ability you are talking about.

– murgatroid99
2 hours ago





Just so you know, most illusion creatures do not in fact have that ability, so you should probably quote the exact ability you are talking about.

– murgatroid99
2 hours ago










1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes


















2














You can save your Phantasmal Bear with Curfew, but not with Snap.



The "illusion ability" is a triggered ability, and once it triggers it goes on the stack on top of whatever spell or ability triggered it. So, after your opponent casts the Ultimate Price, the triggered ability goes on the stack and then you have the opportunity to respond. If you respond by casting Curfew, you can choose to put the Phantasmal Bear into your hand, which will save it from both its own ability and the removal spell. If you instead respond with Snap, Snap itself targets the creature, so the illusion ability will trigger again and go onto the stack on top of Snap, and you will have to sacrifice the creature before Snap resolves.






share|improve this answer























  • Thank you so much. Still confused about the Snap part though because why would it matter if the creature got targeted twice?

    – user27103
    2 hours ago











  • Which part of my explanation of why that happens is not clear to you?

    – murgatroid99
    2 hours ago











  • Every time the bear is targeted its ability will trigger, even if a copy of that ability is already on the stack.

    – Arcanist Lupus
    1 hour ago











Your Answer








StackExchange.ready(function()
var channelOptions =
tags: "".split(" "),
id: "147"
;
initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
// Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
createEditor();
);

else
createEditor();

);

function createEditor()
StackExchange.prepareEditor(
heartbeatType: 'answer',
autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
convertImagesToLinks: false,
noModals: true,
showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
reputationToPostImages: null,
bindNavPrevention: true,
postfix: "",
imageUploader:
brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
allowUrls: true
,
noCode: true, onDemand: true,
discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
);



);






user27103 is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.









draft saved

draft discarded


















StackExchange.ready(
function ()
StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f45829%2fif-my-opponent-casts-ultimate-price-on-my-phantasmal-bear-can-i-save-it-by-cast%23new-answer', 'question_page');

);

Post as a guest















Required, but never shown

























1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes








1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes









active

oldest

votes






active

oldest

votes









2














You can save your Phantasmal Bear with Curfew, but not with Snap.



The "illusion ability" is a triggered ability, and once it triggers it goes on the stack on top of whatever spell or ability triggered it. So, after your opponent casts the Ultimate Price, the triggered ability goes on the stack and then you have the opportunity to respond. If you respond by casting Curfew, you can choose to put the Phantasmal Bear into your hand, which will save it from both its own ability and the removal spell. If you instead respond with Snap, Snap itself targets the creature, so the illusion ability will trigger again and go onto the stack on top of Snap, and you will have to sacrifice the creature before Snap resolves.






share|improve this answer























  • Thank you so much. Still confused about the Snap part though because why would it matter if the creature got targeted twice?

    – user27103
    2 hours ago











  • Which part of my explanation of why that happens is not clear to you?

    – murgatroid99
    2 hours ago











  • Every time the bear is targeted its ability will trigger, even if a copy of that ability is already on the stack.

    – Arcanist Lupus
    1 hour ago















2














You can save your Phantasmal Bear with Curfew, but not with Snap.



The "illusion ability" is a triggered ability, and once it triggers it goes on the stack on top of whatever spell or ability triggered it. So, after your opponent casts the Ultimate Price, the triggered ability goes on the stack and then you have the opportunity to respond. If you respond by casting Curfew, you can choose to put the Phantasmal Bear into your hand, which will save it from both its own ability and the removal spell. If you instead respond with Snap, Snap itself targets the creature, so the illusion ability will trigger again and go onto the stack on top of Snap, and you will have to sacrifice the creature before Snap resolves.






share|improve this answer























  • Thank you so much. Still confused about the Snap part though because why would it matter if the creature got targeted twice?

    – user27103
    2 hours ago











  • Which part of my explanation of why that happens is not clear to you?

    – murgatroid99
    2 hours ago











  • Every time the bear is targeted its ability will trigger, even if a copy of that ability is already on the stack.

    – Arcanist Lupus
    1 hour ago













2












2








2







You can save your Phantasmal Bear with Curfew, but not with Snap.



The "illusion ability" is a triggered ability, and once it triggers it goes on the stack on top of whatever spell or ability triggered it. So, after your opponent casts the Ultimate Price, the triggered ability goes on the stack and then you have the opportunity to respond. If you respond by casting Curfew, you can choose to put the Phantasmal Bear into your hand, which will save it from both its own ability and the removal spell. If you instead respond with Snap, Snap itself targets the creature, so the illusion ability will trigger again and go onto the stack on top of Snap, and you will have to sacrifice the creature before Snap resolves.






share|improve this answer













You can save your Phantasmal Bear with Curfew, but not with Snap.



The "illusion ability" is a triggered ability, and once it triggers it goes on the stack on top of whatever spell or ability triggered it. So, after your opponent casts the Ultimate Price, the triggered ability goes on the stack and then you have the opportunity to respond. If you respond by casting Curfew, you can choose to put the Phantasmal Bear into your hand, which will save it from both its own ability and the removal spell. If you instead respond with Snap, Snap itself targets the creature, so the illusion ability will trigger again and go onto the stack on top of Snap, and you will have to sacrifice the creature before Snap resolves.







share|improve this answer












share|improve this answer



share|improve this answer










answered 2 hours ago









murgatroid99murgatroid99

48.1k7120203




48.1k7120203












  • Thank you so much. Still confused about the Snap part though because why would it matter if the creature got targeted twice?

    – user27103
    2 hours ago











  • Which part of my explanation of why that happens is not clear to you?

    – murgatroid99
    2 hours ago











  • Every time the bear is targeted its ability will trigger, even if a copy of that ability is already on the stack.

    – Arcanist Lupus
    1 hour ago

















  • Thank you so much. Still confused about the Snap part though because why would it matter if the creature got targeted twice?

    – user27103
    2 hours ago











  • Which part of my explanation of why that happens is not clear to you?

    – murgatroid99
    2 hours ago











  • Every time the bear is targeted its ability will trigger, even if a copy of that ability is already on the stack.

    – Arcanist Lupus
    1 hour ago
















Thank you so much. Still confused about the Snap part though because why would it matter if the creature got targeted twice?

– user27103
2 hours ago





Thank you so much. Still confused about the Snap part though because why would it matter if the creature got targeted twice?

– user27103
2 hours ago













Which part of my explanation of why that happens is not clear to you?

– murgatroid99
2 hours ago





Which part of my explanation of why that happens is not clear to you?

– murgatroid99
2 hours ago













Every time the bear is targeted its ability will trigger, even if a copy of that ability is already on the stack.

– Arcanist Lupus
1 hour ago





Every time the bear is targeted its ability will trigger, even if a copy of that ability is already on the stack.

– Arcanist Lupus
1 hour ago










user27103 is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.









draft saved

draft discarded


















user27103 is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.












user27103 is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.











user27103 is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.














Thanks for contributing an answer to Board & Card Games Stack Exchange!


  • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

But avoid


  • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

  • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




draft saved


draft discarded














StackExchange.ready(
function ()
StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f45829%2fif-my-opponent-casts-ultimate-price-on-my-phantasmal-bear-can-i-save-it-by-cast%23new-answer', 'question_page');

);

Post as a guest















Required, but never shown





















































Required, but never shown














Required, but never shown












Required, but never shown







Required, but never shown

































Required, but never shown














Required, but never shown












Required, but never shown







Required, but never shown







Popular posts from this blog

Are there any AGPL-style licences that require source code modifications to be public? Planned maintenance scheduled April 23, 2019 at 23:30 UTC (7:30pm US/Eastern) Announcing the arrival of Valued Associate #679: Cesar Manara Unicorn Meta Zoo #1: Why another podcast?Force derivative works to be publicAre there any GPL like licenses for Apple App Store?Do you violate the GPL if you provide source code that cannot be compiled?GPL - is it distribution to use libraries in an appliance loaned to customers?Distributing App for free which uses GPL'ed codeModifications of server software under GPL, with web/CLI interfaceDoes using an AGPLv3-licensed library prevent me from dual-licensing my own source code?Can I publish only select code under GPLv3 from a private project?Is there published precedent regarding the scope of covered work that uses AGPL software?If MIT licensed code links to GPL licensed code what should be the license of the resulting binary program?If I use a public API endpoint that has its source code licensed under AGPL in my app, do I need to disclose my source?

2013 GY136 Descoberta | Órbita | Referências Menu de navegação«List Of Centaurs and Scattered-Disk Objects»«List of Known Trans-Neptunian Objects»

Mortes em março de 2019 Referências Menu de navegação«Zhores Alferov, Nobel de Física bielorrusso, morre aos 88 anos - Ciência»«Fallece Rafael Torija, o bispo emérito de Ciudad Real»«Peter Hurford dies at 88»«Keith Flint, vocalista do The Prodigy, morre aos 49 anos»«Luke Perry, ator de 'Barrados no baile' e 'Riverdale', morre aos 52 anos»«Former Rangers and Scotland captain Eric Caldow dies, aged 84»«Morreu, aos 61 anos, a antiga lenda do wrestling King Kong Bundy»«Fallece el actor y director teatral Abraham Stavans»«In Memoriam Guillaume Faye»«Sidney Sheinberg, a Force Behind Universal and Spielberg, Is Dead at 84»«Carmine Persico, Colombo Crime Family Boss, Is Dead at 85»«Dirigent Michael Gielen gestorben»«Ciclista tricampeã mundial e prata na Rio 2016 é encontrada morta em casa aos 23 anos»«Pagan Community Notes: Raven Grimassi dies, Indianapolis pop-up event cancelled, Circle Sanctuary announces new podcast, and more!»«Hal Blaine, Wrecking Crew Drummer, Dies at 90»«Morre Coutinho, que editou dupla lendária com Pelé no Santos»«Cantor Demétrius, ídolo da Jovem Guarda, morre em SP»«Ex-presidente do Vasco, Eurico Miranda morre no Rio de Janeiro»«Bronze no Mundial de basquete de 1971, Laís Elena morre aos 76 anos»«Diretor de Corridas da F1, Charlie Whiting morre aos 66 anos às vésperas do GP da Austrália»«Morreu o cardeal Danneels, da Bélgica»«Morreu o cartoonista Augusto Cid»«Morreu a atriz Maria Isabel de Lizandra, de "Vale Tudo" e novelas da Tupi»«WS Merwin, prize-winning poet of nature, dies at 91»«Atriz Márcia Real morre em São Paulo aos 88 anos»«Mauritanie: décès de l'ancien président Mohamed Mahmoud ould Louly»«Morreu Dick Dale, o rei da surf guitar e de "Pulp Fiction"»«Falleció Víctor Genes»«João Carlos Marinho, autor de 'O Gênio do Crime', morre em SP»«Legendary Horror Director and SFX Artist John Carl Buechler Dies at 66»«Morre em Salvador a religiosa Makota Valdina»«مرگ بازیکن‌ سابق نساجی بر اثر سقوط سنگ در مازندران»«Domingos Oliveira morre no Rio»«Morre Airton Ravagniani, ex-São Paulo, Fla, Vasco, Grêmio e Sport - Notícias»«Morre o escritor Flavio Moreira da Costa»«Larry Cohen, Writer-Director of 'It's Alive' and 'Hell Up in Harlem,' Dies at 77»«Scott Walker, experimental singer-songwriter, dead at 76»«Joseph Pilato, Day of the Dead Star and Horror Favorite, Dies at 70»«Sheffield United set to pay tribute to legendary goalkeeper Ted Burgin who has died at 91»«Morre Rafael Henzel, sobrevivente de acidente aéreo da Chapecoense»«Morre Valery Bykovsky, um dos primeiros cosmonautas da União Soviética»«Agnès Varda, cineasta da Nouvelle Vague, morre aos 90 anos»«Agnès Varda, cineasta francesa, morre aos 90 anos»«Tania Mallet, James Bond Actress and Helen Mirren's Cousin, Dies at 77»e