How can the Githyanki Supreme Commander move while insubstantial?Clarification of Blink Mechanics, or “Should Someone have Punched in my Sandwich?”Can a monster with Incorporeal Movement end its movement inside of another creature or object?What can a creature affected by a Warlock's 'Hurl Through Hell' do?What happens if a Player Misty Escapes into an Invisible CreatureDoes the movement of There and Back Again consume your movement for the turn?How many creatures can step through a Teleportation Circle before it closes?Does the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature dispel effects that require the target to be on the same plane as the caster?What happens if the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature is used while in Hell?Can a creature travel from the destination of the Teleportation Circle spell back to the source circle?What does Banishment do if the target Plane Shifts back?

Implications of cigar-shaped bodies having rings?

Minor Revision with suggestion of an alternative proof by reviewer

Retract an already submitted recommendation letter (written for an undergrad student)

How to fry ground beef so it is well-browned

How could Tony Stark make this in Endgame?

"Hidden" theta-term in Hamiltonian formulation of Yang-Mills theory

Check if a string is entirely made of the same substring

What is the philosophical significance of speech acts/implicature?

How to have a sharp product image?

What happened to Captain America in Endgame?

Converting a sprinkler system's 24V AC outputs to 3.3V DC logic inputs

Pre-plastic human skin alternative

Is Diceware more secure than a long passphrase?

How do I reattach a shelf to the wall when it ripped out of the wall?

How to pronounce 'c++' in Spanish

As an international instructor, should I openly talk about my accent?

Does a large simulator bay have standard public address announcements?

can anyone help me with this awful query plan?

'It addicted me, with one taste.' Can 'addict' be used transitively?

Dynamic SOQL query relationship with field visibility for Users

What are the steps to solving this definite integral?

Rivers without rain

What makes accurate emulation of old systems a difficult task?

Elements that can bond to themselves?



How can the Githyanki Supreme Commander move while insubstantial?


Clarification of Blink Mechanics, or “Should Someone have Punched in my Sandwich?”Can a monster with Incorporeal Movement end its movement inside of another creature or object?What can a creature affected by a Warlock's 'Hurl Through Hell' do?What happens if a Player Misty Escapes into an Invisible CreatureDoes the movement of There and Back Again consume your movement for the turn?How many creatures can step through a Teleportation Circle before it closes?Does the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature dispel effects that require the target to be on the same plane as the caster?What happens if the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature is used while in Hell?Can a creature travel from the destination of the Teleportation Circle spell back to the source circle?What does Banishment do if the target Plane Shifts back?






.everyoneloves__top-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__mid-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__bot-mid-leaderboard:empty margin-bottom:0;








7












$begingroup$


The Githyanki Supreme Commander, in its stat block (Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, p. 206), is granted three types of legendary actions, one of them being the Teleport action:




Teleport. The githyanki magically teleports, along with any equipment
it is wearing and carrying, to an unoccupied space it can see within 30
feet of it. [...]




Simple. However, the description of the action continues:




[...] It also becomes insubstantial until the start of its next turn.
While insubstantial, it can move through other creatures and objects
as if they were difficult terrain. If it ends its turn inside an object,
it takes 16 (3d10) force damage and is moved to the nearest unoccupied
space.




Since legendary actions can only be taken "at the end of another creature's turn" (specified in the generic description of the Legendary actions), how can the Githyanki Supreme Commander move (or, as a matter of fact, end its turn inside an object) while insubstantial if the insubstantiality ends at the start of its turn?



Remember that it cannot teleport to a space it can't see, or to an occupied space.










share|improve this question











$endgroup$











  • $begingroup$
    That sounds like it should be able to choose to Teleport on it's turn. Is Teleport listed elsewhere in the stat block, and referenced in the legendary actions section?
    $endgroup$
    – Caleth
    7 hours ago







  • 2




    $begingroup$
    @Caleth I've checked, and Teleport is only listed in the legendary actions section.
    $endgroup$
    – Vigil
    7 hours ago

















7












$begingroup$


The Githyanki Supreme Commander, in its stat block (Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, p. 206), is granted three types of legendary actions, one of them being the Teleport action:




Teleport. The githyanki magically teleports, along with any equipment
it is wearing and carrying, to an unoccupied space it can see within 30
feet of it. [...]




Simple. However, the description of the action continues:




[...] It also becomes insubstantial until the start of its next turn.
While insubstantial, it can move through other creatures and objects
as if they were difficult terrain. If it ends its turn inside an object,
it takes 16 (3d10) force damage and is moved to the nearest unoccupied
space.




Since legendary actions can only be taken "at the end of another creature's turn" (specified in the generic description of the Legendary actions), how can the Githyanki Supreme Commander move (or, as a matter of fact, end its turn inside an object) while insubstantial if the insubstantiality ends at the start of its turn?



Remember that it cannot teleport to a space it can't see, or to an occupied space.










share|improve this question











$endgroup$











  • $begingroup$
    That sounds like it should be able to choose to Teleport on it's turn. Is Teleport listed elsewhere in the stat block, and referenced in the legendary actions section?
    $endgroup$
    – Caleth
    7 hours ago







  • 2




    $begingroup$
    @Caleth I've checked, and Teleport is only listed in the legendary actions section.
    $endgroup$
    – Vigil
    7 hours ago













7












7








7





$begingroup$


The Githyanki Supreme Commander, in its stat block (Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, p. 206), is granted three types of legendary actions, one of them being the Teleport action:




Teleport. The githyanki magically teleports, along with any equipment
it is wearing and carrying, to an unoccupied space it can see within 30
feet of it. [...]




Simple. However, the description of the action continues:




[...] It also becomes insubstantial until the start of its next turn.
While insubstantial, it can move through other creatures and objects
as if they were difficult terrain. If it ends its turn inside an object,
it takes 16 (3d10) force damage and is moved to the nearest unoccupied
space.




Since legendary actions can only be taken "at the end of another creature's turn" (specified in the generic description of the Legendary actions), how can the Githyanki Supreme Commander move (or, as a matter of fact, end its turn inside an object) while insubstantial if the insubstantiality ends at the start of its turn?



Remember that it cannot teleport to a space it can't see, or to an occupied space.










share|improve this question











$endgroup$




The Githyanki Supreme Commander, in its stat block (Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, p. 206), is granted three types of legendary actions, one of them being the Teleport action:




Teleport. The githyanki magically teleports, along with any equipment
it is wearing and carrying, to an unoccupied space it can see within 30
feet of it. [...]




Simple. However, the description of the action continues:




[...] It also becomes insubstantial until the start of its next turn.
While insubstantial, it can move through other creatures and objects
as if they were difficult terrain. If it ends its turn inside an object,
it takes 16 (3d10) force damage and is moved to the nearest unoccupied
space.




Since legendary actions can only be taken "at the end of another creature's turn" (specified in the generic description of the Legendary actions), how can the Githyanki Supreme Commander move (or, as a matter of fact, end its turn inside an object) while insubstantial if the insubstantiality ends at the start of its turn?



Remember that it cannot teleport to a space it can't see, or to an occupied space.







dnd-5e monsters movement actions teleportation






share|improve this question















share|improve this question













share|improve this question




share|improve this question








edited 1 hour ago









V2Blast

28k5101171




28k5101171










asked 8 hours ago









Meta4icMeta4ic

3,07152559




3,07152559











  • $begingroup$
    That sounds like it should be able to choose to Teleport on it's turn. Is Teleport listed elsewhere in the stat block, and referenced in the legendary actions section?
    $endgroup$
    – Caleth
    7 hours ago







  • 2




    $begingroup$
    @Caleth I've checked, and Teleport is only listed in the legendary actions section.
    $endgroup$
    – Vigil
    7 hours ago
















  • $begingroup$
    That sounds like it should be able to choose to Teleport on it's turn. Is Teleport listed elsewhere in the stat block, and referenced in the legendary actions section?
    $endgroup$
    – Caleth
    7 hours ago







  • 2




    $begingroup$
    @Caleth I've checked, and Teleport is only listed in the legendary actions section.
    $endgroup$
    – Vigil
    7 hours ago















$begingroup$
That sounds like it should be able to choose to Teleport on it's turn. Is Teleport listed elsewhere in the stat block, and referenced in the legendary actions section?
$endgroup$
– Caleth
7 hours ago





$begingroup$
That sounds like it should be able to choose to Teleport on it's turn. Is Teleport listed elsewhere in the stat block, and referenced in the legendary actions section?
$endgroup$
– Caleth
7 hours ago





2




2




$begingroup$
@Caleth I've checked, and Teleport is only listed in the legendary actions section.
$endgroup$
– Vigil
7 hours ago




$begingroup$
@Caleth I've checked, and Teleport is only listed in the legendary actions section.
$endgroup$
– Vigil
7 hours ago










3 Answers
3






active

oldest

votes


















9












$begingroup$

The Githyanki Supreme Commander could Ready the Dash action.



If the Supreme Commander readies the Dash Action and sets the trigger for the moment they become insubstantial, they could use their Legendary Action to teleport and become insubstantial later in the round. Then they could use their reaction to take the readied Dash action and move through other creatures and objects, taking the damage if they ended the Dash in another creature or object's space.






share|improve this answer









$endgroup$












  • $begingroup$
    Very nice answer. I think it's worth mentioning the "ends its turn inside an object" clause is therefore an error - given the insubstantial state ends at the start of its turn, it seems like that clause should apply then.
    $endgroup$
    – Vigil
    7 hours ago










  • $begingroup$
    This ability does seem a bit flaky, as though it's design went through a few iterations and was never quite worked out. In addition to @user48255's answer, as a DM, I might house-rule that the Gith commander can move after teleporting (using up any 'left over' movement from it's last turn perhaps). Makes more sense that way.
    $endgroup$
    – PJRZ
    7 hours ago










  • $begingroup$
    @PJRZ or it could be a standard templating for insubstantial granting abilities, which would normally occur during a creature's turn
    $endgroup$
    – Caleth
    7 hours ago










  • $begingroup$
    They could also be forced to move by a spell or ability before their next turn (eg dissonant whispers)
    $endgroup$
    – Rubiksmoose
    6 hours ago










  • $begingroup$
    @vigil One could argue that RAW the GCS remains stuck inside the object during its turn.
    $endgroup$
    – Mindwin
    5 hours ago


















1












$begingroup$

The Githyanki Supreme Commander can get bodied



Since the supreme commander remains insubstantial until the start of its turn, forced movement (for example via the 'shove' action) can result in its being moved into objects or creatures of its opponents' choice. Furthermore, since it loses the ability to move through solid objects at the start of its turn yet doesn't get to take damage and be shunted out til the end of its turn, the supreme commander, if shoved into a solid object, effectively takes 3d10 force damage instead of its next turn (actions it can take while superposed with opaque solid matter withstanding).






share|improve this answer









$endgroup$




















    -2












    $begingroup$

    Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round.



    Githyanki Commander Supreme has 30ft of movement. If he only moved 10ft during his turn, he would still have 20ft of movement left to use until the round ends.



    So you could teleport somewhere, and then use what is left of your movement. So if you used that 20ft to end movement inside of a tree, you would take damage when your turn starts.



    This would be RAI, but I believe that movement in this case is part of the legendary action.






    share|improve this answer









    $endgroup$












    • $begingroup$
      "Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round." Can you cite a source for this? Your speed is a static thing; as far as I know, your movement is a thing you can do on your turn, up to your speed. If you could move outside your turn, there'd be no reason to specify that the Ready action could be used to ready a move
      $endgroup$
      – V2Blast
      1 hour ago











    Your Answer








    StackExchange.ready(function()
    var channelOptions =
    tags: "".split(" "),
    id: "122"
    ;
    initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

    StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
    // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
    if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
    StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
    createEditor();
    );

    else
    createEditor();

    );

    function createEditor()
    StackExchange.prepareEditor(
    heartbeatType: 'answer',
    autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
    convertImagesToLinks: false,
    noModals: true,
    showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
    reputationToPostImages: null,
    bindNavPrevention: true,
    postfix: "",
    imageUploader:
    brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
    contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
    allowUrls: true
    ,
    noCode: true, onDemand: true,
    discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
    ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
    );



    );













    draft saved

    draft discarded


















    StackExchange.ready(
    function ()
    StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f146941%2fhow-can-the-githyanki-supreme-commander-move-while-insubstantial%23new-answer', 'question_page');

    );

    Post as a guest















    Required, but never shown

























    3 Answers
    3






    active

    oldest

    votes








    3 Answers
    3






    active

    oldest

    votes









    active

    oldest

    votes






    active

    oldest

    votes









    9












    $begingroup$

    The Githyanki Supreme Commander could Ready the Dash action.



    If the Supreme Commander readies the Dash Action and sets the trigger for the moment they become insubstantial, they could use their Legendary Action to teleport and become insubstantial later in the round. Then they could use their reaction to take the readied Dash action and move through other creatures and objects, taking the damage if they ended the Dash in another creature or object's space.






    share|improve this answer









    $endgroup$












    • $begingroup$
      Very nice answer. I think it's worth mentioning the "ends its turn inside an object" clause is therefore an error - given the insubstantial state ends at the start of its turn, it seems like that clause should apply then.
      $endgroup$
      – Vigil
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      This ability does seem a bit flaky, as though it's design went through a few iterations and was never quite worked out. In addition to @user48255's answer, as a DM, I might house-rule that the Gith commander can move after teleporting (using up any 'left over' movement from it's last turn perhaps). Makes more sense that way.
      $endgroup$
      – PJRZ
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      @PJRZ or it could be a standard templating for insubstantial granting abilities, which would normally occur during a creature's turn
      $endgroup$
      – Caleth
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      They could also be forced to move by a spell or ability before their next turn (eg dissonant whispers)
      $endgroup$
      – Rubiksmoose
      6 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      @vigil One could argue that RAW the GCS remains stuck inside the object during its turn.
      $endgroup$
      – Mindwin
      5 hours ago















    9












    $begingroup$

    The Githyanki Supreme Commander could Ready the Dash action.



    If the Supreme Commander readies the Dash Action and sets the trigger for the moment they become insubstantial, they could use their Legendary Action to teleport and become insubstantial later in the round. Then they could use their reaction to take the readied Dash action and move through other creatures and objects, taking the damage if they ended the Dash in another creature or object's space.






    share|improve this answer









    $endgroup$












    • $begingroup$
      Very nice answer. I think it's worth mentioning the "ends its turn inside an object" clause is therefore an error - given the insubstantial state ends at the start of its turn, it seems like that clause should apply then.
      $endgroup$
      – Vigil
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      This ability does seem a bit flaky, as though it's design went through a few iterations and was never quite worked out. In addition to @user48255's answer, as a DM, I might house-rule that the Gith commander can move after teleporting (using up any 'left over' movement from it's last turn perhaps). Makes more sense that way.
      $endgroup$
      – PJRZ
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      @PJRZ or it could be a standard templating for insubstantial granting abilities, which would normally occur during a creature's turn
      $endgroup$
      – Caleth
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      They could also be forced to move by a spell or ability before their next turn (eg dissonant whispers)
      $endgroup$
      – Rubiksmoose
      6 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      @vigil One could argue that RAW the GCS remains stuck inside the object during its turn.
      $endgroup$
      – Mindwin
      5 hours ago













    9












    9








    9





    $begingroup$

    The Githyanki Supreme Commander could Ready the Dash action.



    If the Supreme Commander readies the Dash Action and sets the trigger for the moment they become insubstantial, they could use their Legendary Action to teleport and become insubstantial later in the round. Then they could use their reaction to take the readied Dash action and move through other creatures and objects, taking the damage if they ended the Dash in another creature or object's space.






    share|improve this answer









    $endgroup$



    The Githyanki Supreme Commander could Ready the Dash action.



    If the Supreme Commander readies the Dash Action and sets the trigger for the moment they become insubstantial, they could use their Legendary Action to teleport and become insubstantial later in the round. Then they could use their reaction to take the readied Dash action and move through other creatures and objects, taking the damage if they ended the Dash in another creature or object's space.







    share|improve this answer












    share|improve this answer



    share|improve this answer










    answered 7 hours ago









    user48255user48255

    5,8811134




    5,8811134











    • $begingroup$
      Very nice answer. I think it's worth mentioning the "ends its turn inside an object" clause is therefore an error - given the insubstantial state ends at the start of its turn, it seems like that clause should apply then.
      $endgroup$
      – Vigil
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      This ability does seem a bit flaky, as though it's design went through a few iterations and was never quite worked out. In addition to @user48255's answer, as a DM, I might house-rule that the Gith commander can move after teleporting (using up any 'left over' movement from it's last turn perhaps). Makes more sense that way.
      $endgroup$
      – PJRZ
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      @PJRZ or it could be a standard templating for insubstantial granting abilities, which would normally occur during a creature's turn
      $endgroup$
      – Caleth
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      They could also be forced to move by a spell or ability before their next turn (eg dissonant whispers)
      $endgroup$
      – Rubiksmoose
      6 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      @vigil One could argue that RAW the GCS remains stuck inside the object during its turn.
      $endgroup$
      – Mindwin
      5 hours ago
















    • $begingroup$
      Very nice answer. I think it's worth mentioning the "ends its turn inside an object" clause is therefore an error - given the insubstantial state ends at the start of its turn, it seems like that clause should apply then.
      $endgroup$
      – Vigil
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      This ability does seem a bit flaky, as though it's design went through a few iterations and was never quite worked out. In addition to @user48255's answer, as a DM, I might house-rule that the Gith commander can move after teleporting (using up any 'left over' movement from it's last turn perhaps). Makes more sense that way.
      $endgroup$
      – PJRZ
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      @PJRZ or it could be a standard templating for insubstantial granting abilities, which would normally occur during a creature's turn
      $endgroup$
      – Caleth
      7 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      They could also be forced to move by a spell or ability before their next turn (eg dissonant whispers)
      $endgroup$
      – Rubiksmoose
      6 hours ago










    • $begingroup$
      @vigil One could argue that RAW the GCS remains stuck inside the object during its turn.
      $endgroup$
      – Mindwin
      5 hours ago















    $begingroup$
    Very nice answer. I think it's worth mentioning the "ends its turn inside an object" clause is therefore an error - given the insubstantial state ends at the start of its turn, it seems like that clause should apply then.
    $endgroup$
    – Vigil
    7 hours ago




    $begingroup$
    Very nice answer. I think it's worth mentioning the "ends its turn inside an object" clause is therefore an error - given the insubstantial state ends at the start of its turn, it seems like that clause should apply then.
    $endgroup$
    – Vigil
    7 hours ago












    $begingroup$
    This ability does seem a bit flaky, as though it's design went through a few iterations and was never quite worked out. In addition to @user48255's answer, as a DM, I might house-rule that the Gith commander can move after teleporting (using up any 'left over' movement from it's last turn perhaps). Makes more sense that way.
    $endgroup$
    – PJRZ
    7 hours ago




    $begingroup$
    This ability does seem a bit flaky, as though it's design went through a few iterations and was never quite worked out. In addition to @user48255's answer, as a DM, I might house-rule that the Gith commander can move after teleporting (using up any 'left over' movement from it's last turn perhaps). Makes more sense that way.
    $endgroup$
    – PJRZ
    7 hours ago












    $begingroup$
    @PJRZ or it could be a standard templating for insubstantial granting abilities, which would normally occur during a creature's turn
    $endgroup$
    – Caleth
    7 hours ago




    $begingroup$
    @PJRZ or it could be a standard templating for insubstantial granting abilities, which would normally occur during a creature's turn
    $endgroup$
    – Caleth
    7 hours ago












    $begingroup$
    They could also be forced to move by a spell or ability before their next turn (eg dissonant whispers)
    $endgroup$
    – Rubiksmoose
    6 hours ago




    $begingroup$
    They could also be forced to move by a spell or ability before their next turn (eg dissonant whispers)
    $endgroup$
    – Rubiksmoose
    6 hours ago












    $begingroup$
    @vigil One could argue that RAW the GCS remains stuck inside the object during its turn.
    $endgroup$
    – Mindwin
    5 hours ago




    $begingroup$
    @vigil One could argue that RAW the GCS remains stuck inside the object during its turn.
    $endgroup$
    – Mindwin
    5 hours ago













    1












    $begingroup$

    The Githyanki Supreme Commander can get bodied



    Since the supreme commander remains insubstantial until the start of its turn, forced movement (for example via the 'shove' action) can result in its being moved into objects or creatures of its opponents' choice. Furthermore, since it loses the ability to move through solid objects at the start of its turn yet doesn't get to take damage and be shunted out til the end of its turn, the supreme commander, if shoved into a solid object, effectively takes 3d10 force damage instead of its next turn (actions it can take while superposed with opaque solid matter withstanding).






    share|improve this answer









    $endgroup$

















      1












      $begingroup$

      The Githyanki Supreme Commander can get bodied



      Since the supreme commander remains insubstantial until the start of its turn, forced movement (for example via the 'shove' action) can result in its being moved into objects or creatures of its opponents' choice. Furthermore, since it loses the ability to move through solid objects at the start of its turn yet doesn't get to take damage and be shunted out til the end of its turn, the supreme commander, if shoved into a solid object, effectively takes 3d10 force damage instead of its next turn (actions it can take while superposed with opaque solid matter withstanding).






      share|improve this answer









      $endgroup$















        1












        1








        1





        $begingroup$

        The Githyanki Supreme Commander can get bodied



        Since the supreme commander remains insubstantial until the start of its turn, forced movement (for example via the 'shove' action) can result in its being moved into objects or creatures of its opponents' choice. Furthermore, since it loses the ability to move through solid objects at the start of its turn yet doesn't get to take damage and be shunted out til the end of its turn, the supreme commander, if shoved into a solid object, effectively takes 3d10 force damage instead of its next turn (actions it can take while superposed with opaque solid matter withstanding).






        share|improve this answer









        $endgroup$



        The Githyanki Supreme Commander can get bodied



        Since the supreme commander remains insubstantial until the start of its turn, forced movement (for example via the 'shove' action) can result in its being moved into objects or creatures of its opponents' choice. Furthermore, since it loses the ability to move through solid objects at the start of its turn yet doesn't get to take damage and be shunted out til the end of its turn, the supreme commander, if shoved into a solid object, effectively takes 3d10 force damage instead of its next turn (actions it can take while superposed with opaque solid matter withstanding).







        share|improve this answer












        share|improve this answer



        share|improve this answer










        answered 23 mins ago









        the dark wandererthe dark wanderer

        38.6k498205




        38.6k498205





















            -2












            $begingroup$

            Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round.



            Githyanki Commander Supreme has 30ft of movement. If he only moved 10ft during his turn, he would still have 20ft of movement left to use until the round ends.



            So you could teleport somewhere, and then use what is left of your movement. So if you used that 20ft to end movement inside of a tree, you would take damage when your turn starts.



            This would be RAI, but I believe that movement in this case is part of the legendary action.






            share|improve this answer









            $endgroup$












            • $begingroup$
              "Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round." Can you cite a source for this? Your speed is a static thing; as far as I know, your movement is a thing you can do on your turn, up to your speed. If you could move outside your turn, there'd be no reason to specify that the Ready action could be used to ready a move
              $endgroup$
              – V2Blast
              1 hour ago















            -2












            $begingroup$

            Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round.



            Githyanki Commander Supreme has 30ft of movement. If he only moved 10ft during his turn, he would still have 20ft of movement left to use until the round ends.



            So you could teleport somewhere, and then use what is left of your movement. So if you used that 20ft to end movement inside of a tree, you would take damage when your turn starts.



            This would be RAI, but I believe that movement in this case is part of the legendary action.






            share|improve this answer









            $endgroup$












            • $begingroup$
              "Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round." Can you cite a source for this? Your speed is a static thing; as far as I know, your movement is a thing you can do on your turn, up to your speed. If you could move outside your turn, there'd be no reason to specify that the Ready action could be used to ready a move
              $endgroup$
              – V2Blast
              1 hour ago













            -2












            -2








            -2





            $begingroup$

            Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round.



            Githyanki Commander Supreme has 30ft of movement. If he only moved 10ft during his turn, he would still have 20ft of movement left to use until the round ends.



            So you could teleport somewhere, and then use what is left of your movement. So if you used that 20ft to end movement inside of a tree, you would take damage when your turn starts.



            This would be RAI, but I believe that movement in this case is part of the legendary action.






            share|improve this answer









            $endgroup$



            Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round.



            Githyanki Commander Supreme has 30ft of movement. If he only moved 10ft during his turn, he would still have 20ft of movement left to use until the round ends.



            So you could teleport somewhere, and then use what is left of your movement. So if you used that 20ft to end movement inside of a tree, you would take damage when your turn starts.



            This would be RAI, but I believe that movement in this case is part of the legendary action.







            share|improve this answer












            share|improve this answer



            share|improve this answer










            answered 8 hours ago









            SaggingRufusSaggingRufus

            2,72821833




            2,72821833











            • $begingroup$
              "Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round." Can you cite a source for this? Your speed is a static thing; as far as I know, your movement is a thing you can do on your turn, up to your speed. If you could move outside your turn, there'd be no reason to specify that the Ready action could be used to ready a move
              $endgroup$
              – V2Blast
              1 hour ago
















            • $begingroup$
              "Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round." Can you cite a source for this? Your speed is a static thing; as far as I know, your movement is a thing you can do on your turn, up to your speed. If you could move outside your turn, there'd be no reason to specify that the Ready action could be used to ready a move
              $endgroup$
              – V2Blast
              1 hour ago















            $begingroup$
            "Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round." Can you cite a source for this? Your speed is a static thing; as far as I know, your movement is a thing you can do on your turn, up to your speed. If you could move outside your turn, there'd be no reason to specify that the Ready action could be used to ready a move
            $endgroup$
            – V2Blast
            1 hour ago




            $begingroup$
            "Your speed does not replenish until the end of a round." Can you cite a source for this? Your speed is a static thing; as far as I know, your movement is a thing you can do on your turn, up to your speed. If you could move outside your turn, there'd be no reason to specify that the Ready action could be used to ready a move
            $endgroup$
            – V2Blast
            1 hour ago

















            draft saved

            draft discarded
















































            Thanks for contributing an answer to Role-playing Games Stack Exchange!


            • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

            But avoid


            • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

            • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

            Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.


            To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




            draft saved


            draft discarded














            StackExchange.ready(
            function ()
            StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f146941%2fhow-can-the-githyanki-supreme-commander-move-while-insubstantial%23new-answer', 'question_page');

            );

            Post as a guest















            Required, but never shown





















































            Required, but never shown














            Required, but never shown












            Required, but never shown







            Required, but never shown

































            Required, but never shown














            Required, but never shown












            Required, but never shown







            Required, but never shown







            Popular posts from this blog

            Are there any AGPL-style licences that require source code modifications to be public? Planned maintenance scheduled April 23, 2019 at 23:30 UTC (7:30pm US/Eastern) Announcing the arrival of Valued Associate #679: Cesar Manara Unicorn Meta Zoo #1: Why another podcast?Force derivative works to be publicAre there any GPL like licenses for Apple App Store?Do you violate the GPL if you provide source code that cannot be compiled?GPL - is it distribution to use libraries in an appliance loaned to customers?Distributing App for free which uses GPL'ed codeModifications of server software under GPL, with web/CLI interfaceDoes using an AGPLv3-licensed library prevent me from dual-licensing my own source code?Can I publish only select code under GPLv3 from a private project?Is there published precedent regarding the scope of covered work that uses AGPL software?If MIT licensed code links to GPL licensed code what should be the license of the resulting binary program?If I use a public API endpoint that has its source code licensed under AGPL in my app, do I need to disclose my source?

            2013 GY136 Descoberta | Órbita | Referências Menu de navegação«List Of Centaurs and Scattered-Disk Objects»«List of Known Trans-Neptunian Objects»

            Mortes em março de 2019 Referências Menu de navegação«Zhores Alferov, Nobel de Física bielorrusso, morre aos 88 anos - Ciência»«Fallece Rafael Torija, o bispo emérito de Ciudad Real»«Peter Hurford dies at 88»«Keith Flint, vocalista do The Prodigy, morre aos 49 anos»«Luke Perry, ator de 'Barrados no baile' e 'Riverdale', morre aos 52 anos»«Former Rangers and Scotland captain Eric Caldow dies, aged 84»«Morreu, aos 61 anos, a antiga lenda do wrestling King Kong Bundy»«Fallece el actor y director teatral Abraham Stavans»«In Memoriam Guillaume Faye»«Sidney Sheinberg, a Force Behind Universal and Spielberg, Is Dead at 84»«Carmine Persico, Colombo Crime Family Boss, Is Dead at 85»«Dirigent Michael Gielen gestorben»«Ciclista tricampeã mundial e prata na Rio 2016 é encontrada morta em casa aos 23 anos»«Pagan Community Notes: Raven Grimassi dies, Indianapolis pop-up event cancelled, Circle Sanctuary announces new podcast, and more!»«Hal Blaine, Wrecking Crew Drummer, Dies at 90»«Morre Coutinho, que editou dupla lendária com Pelé no Santos»«Cantor Demétrius, ídolo da Jovem Guarda, morre em SP»«Ex-presidente do Vasco, Eurico Miranda morre no Rio de Janeiro»«Bronze no Mundial de basquete de 1971, Laís Elena morre aos 76 anos»«Diretor de Corridas da F1, Charlie Whiting morre aos 66 anos às vésperas do GP da Austrália»«Morreu o cardeal Danneels, da Bélgica»«Morreu o cartoonista Augusto Cid»«Morreu a atriz Maria Isabel de Lizandra, de "Vale Tudo" e novelas da Tupi»«WS Merwin, prize-winning poet of nature, dies at 91»«Atriz Márcia Real morre em São Paulo aos 88 anos»«Mauritanie: décès de l'ancien président Mohamed Mahmoud ould Louly»«Morreu Dick Dale, o rei da surf guitar e de "Pulp Fiction"»«Falleció Víctor Genes»«João Carlos Marinho, autor de 'O Gênio do Crime', morre em SP»«Legendary Horror Director and SFX Artist John Carl Buechler Dies at 66»«Morre em Salvador a religiosa Makota Valdina»«مرگ بازیکن‌ سابق نساجی بر اثر سقوط سنگ در مازندران»«Domingos Oliveira morre no Rio»«Morre Airton Ravagniani, ex-São Paulo, Fla, Vasco, Grêmio e Sport - Notícias»«Morre o escritor Flavio Moreira da Costa»«Larry Cohen, Writer-Director of 'It's Alive' and 'Hell Up in Harlem,' Dies at 77»«Scott Walker, experimental singer-songwriter, dead at 76»«Joseph Pilato, Day of the Dead Star and Horror Favorite, Dies at 70»«Sheffield United set to pay tribute to legendary goalkeeper Ted Burgin who has died at 91»«Morre Rafael Henzel, sobrevivente de acidente aéreo da Chapecoense»«Morre Valery Bykovsky, um dos primeiros cosmonautas da União Soviética»«Agnès Varda, cineasta da Nouvelle Vague, morre aos 90 anos»«Agnès Varda, cineasta francesa, morre aos 90 anos»«Tania Mallet, James Bond Actress and Helen Mirren's Cousin, Dies at 77»e