Are sorcerers unable to use the Careful Spell metamagic option on themselves? Announcing the arrival of Valued Associate #679: Cesar Manara Planned maintenance scheduled April 23, 2019 at 23:30 UTC (7:30pm US/Eastern)Does using an Instrument of the Bards impose disadvantage on the saving throws against Compulsion?Can a Wild Magic Sorcerer use Tides of Chaos while unconscious at 0 Hit Points?Potent Cantrip vs EvasionWhen do I state that I want to use empowered spell?Can the first effect of Plane Shift work remotely with the Distant Spell metamagic option?Can Twinned Spell be used on Plane Shift when it's used to banish an unwilling creature to another plane?Is there a mechanism for reducing and controlling the damage of a spell?How does Elemental Affinity work with spells like Ice Knife?How does the Twinned Spell metamagic option interact with the Draconic Bloodline sorcerer's Elemental Affinity feature?Should this homebrew “Artillery Spell” advanced metamagic option be reworded or clarified?

In musical terms, what properties are varied by the human voice to produce different words / syllables?

Trademark violation for app?

How often does castling occur in grandmaster games?

Co-worker has annoying ringtone

What does 丫 mean? 丫是什么意思?

What would you call this weird metallic apparatus that allows you to lift people?

What is the meaning of 'breadth' in breadth first search?

Putting class ranking in CV, but against dept guidelines

preposition before coffee

What are the discoveries that have been possible with the rejection of positivism?

What to do with repeated rejections for phd position

What does this say in Elvish?

Lagrange four-squares theorem --- deterministic complexity

AppleTVs create a chatty alternate WiFi network

Why are my pictures showing a dark band on one edge?

One-one communication

Maximum summed subsequences with non-adjacent items

Strange behavior of Object.defineProperty() in JavaScript

Random body shuffle every night—can we still function?

Drawing spherical mirrors

What is best way to wire a ceiling receptacle in this situation?

How to write capital alpha?

How many time has Arya actually used Needle?

Amount of permutations on an NxNxN Rubik's Cube



Are sorcerers unable to use the Careful Spell metamagic option on themselves?



Announcing the arrival of Valued Associate #679: Cesar Manara
Planned maintenance scheduled April 23, 2019 at 23:30 UTC (7:30pm US/Eastern)Does using an Instrument of the Bards impose disadvantage on the saving throws against Compulsion?Can a Wild Magic Sorcerer use Tides of Chaos while unconscious at 0 Hit Points?Potent Cantrip vs EvasionWhen do I state that I want to use empowered spell?Can the first effect of Plane Shift work remotely with the Distant Spell metamagic option?Can Twinned Spell be used on Plane Shift when it's used to banish an unwilling creature to another plane?Is there a mechanism for reducing and controlling the damage of a spell?How does Elemental Affinity work with spells like Ice Knife?How does the Twinned Spell metamagic option interact with the Draconic Bloodline sorcerer's Elemental Affinity feature?Should this homebrew “Artillery Spell” advanced metamagic option be reworded or clarified?



.everyoneloves__top-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__mid-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__bot-mid-leaderboard:empty margin-bottom:0;








7












$begingroup$


The sorcerer's Careful Spell metamagic option states the it applies to “other creatures”:




When you cast a spell that forces other creatures to make a saving
throw, you can protect some of those creatures from the spell full
force. To do so, you spend 1 sorcery point and choose a member of
those creatures up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one
creature). A chosen creature automatically succeeds on its saving
throw against the spell.




Does that mean the caster can’t use it to protect himself from the effects of the spell if you happen to cast an AoE spell like ice storm?










share|improve this question











$endgroup$


















    7












    $begingroup$


    The sorcerer's Careful Spell metamagic option states the it applies to “other creatures”:




    When you cast a spell that forces other creatures to make a saving
    throw, you can protect some of those creatures from the spell full
    force. To do so, you spend 1 sorcery point and choose a member of
    those creatures up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one
    creature). A chosen creature automatically succeeds on its saving
    throw against the spell.




    Does that mean the caster can’t use it to protect himself from the effects of the spell if you happen to cast an AoE spell like ice storm?










    share|improve this question











    $endgroup$














      7












      7








      7





      $begingroup$


      The sorcerer's Careful Spell metamagic option states the it applies to “other creatures”:




      When you cast a spell that forces other creatures to make a saving
      throw, you can protect some of those creatures from the spell full
      force. To do so, you spend 1 sorcery point and choose a member of
      those creatures up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one
      creature). A chosen creature automatically succeeds on its saving
      throw against the spell.




      Does that mean the caster can’t use it to protect himself from the effects of the spell if you happen to cast an AoE spell like ice storm?










      share|improve this question











      $endgroup$




      The sorcerer's Careful Spell metamagic option states the it applies to “other creatures”:




      When you cast a spell that forces other creatures to make a saving
      throw, you can protect some of those creatures from the spell full
      force. To do so, you spend 1 sorcery point and choose a member of
      those creatures up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one
      creature). A chosen creature automatically succeeds on its saving
      throw against the spell.




      Does that mean the caster can’t use it to protect himself from the effects of the spell if you happen to cast an AoE spell like ice storm?







      dnd-5e spells sorcerer metamagic targeting






      share|improve this question















      share|improve this question













      share|improve this question




      share|improve this question








      edited 16 mins ago









      V2Blast

      27.6k597167




      27.6k597167










      asked 5 hours ago









      Jorge CórdobaJorge Córdoba

      409311




      409311




















          1 Answer
          1






          active

          oldest

          votes


















          5












          $begingroup$

          Yes, you can't protect yourself



          The rule is consistent with using 'other creature' to mean 'you are not included', so with this wording you can't use Careful spell metamagic to protect yourself.



          However,



          I don't see any problem if you ruled the caster can be included. I've DM'ed and played sorcerer with Careful Spell allowed on themselves and there is no problem at all.




          This seems intentional. The wording of Sculpt Spells from Evocation Wizard also suggest the same thing:




          When you cast an evocation spell that affects other creatures that you can see, you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell’s level.




          and the tweet from Jeremy Crawford seems to suggest so




          Careful Spell and Sculpt Spells work as intended.







          share|improve this answer











          $endgroup$












          • $begingroup$
            I could argue that it is definitely intentional because at three different times it references other creatures. "Other creatures", "some of those creatures", "choose a number of those creatures"
            $endgroup$
            – Blake Steel
            4 hours ago










          • $begingroup$
            @BlakeSteel no. The 'those creatures' refer to the group mentioned previously. The previous group has been defined with an error (excluding the caster), thus all references to the defined group is error. Both wording does not clarify better whether it's intentional or not.
            $endgroup$
            – Vylix
            4 hours ago











          Your Answer








          StackExchange.ready(function()
          var channelOptions =
          tags: "".split(" "),
          id: "122"
          ;
          initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

          StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
          // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
          if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
          StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
          createEditor();
          );

          else
          createEditor();

          );

          function createEditor()
          StackExchange.prepareEditor(
          heartbeatType: 'answer',
          autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
          convertImagesToLinks: false,
          noModals: true,
          showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
          reputationToPostImages: null,
          bindNavPrevention: true,
          postfix: "",
          imageUploader:
          brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
          contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
          allowUrls: true
          ,
          noCode: true, onDemand: true,
          discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
          ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
          );



          );













          draft saved

          draft discarded


















          StackExchange.ready(
          function ()
          StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f145500%2fare-sorcerers-unable-to-use-the-careful-spell-metamagic-option-on-themselves%23new-answer', 'question_page');

          );

          Post as a guest















          Required, but never shown

























          1 Answer
          1






          active

          oldest

          votes








          1 Answer
          1






          active

          oldest

          votes









          active

          oldest

          votes






          active

          oldest

          votes









          5












          $begingroup$

          Yes, you can't protect yourself



          The rule is consistent with using 'other creature' to mean 'you are not included', so with this wording you can't use Careful spell metamagic to protect yourself.



          However,



          I don't see any problem if you ruled the caster can be included. I've DM'ed and played sorcerer with Careful Spell allowed on themselves and there is no problem at all.




          This seems intentional. The wording of Sculpt Spells from Evocation Wizard also suggest the same thing:




          When you cast an evocation spell that affects other creatures that you can see, you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell’s level.




          and the tweet from Jeremy Crawford seems to suggest so




          Careful Spell and Sculpt Spells work as intended.







          share|improve this answer











          $endgroup$












          • $begingroup$
            I could argue that it is definitely intentional because at three different times it references other creatures. "Other creatures", "some of those creatures", "choose a number of those creatures"
            $endgroup$
            – Blake Steel
            4 hours ago










          • $begingroup$
            @BlakeSteel no. The 'those creatures' refer to the group mentioned previously. The previous group has been defined with an error (excluding the caster), thus all references to the defined group is error. Both wording does not clarify better whether it's intentional or not.
            $endgroup$
            – Vylix
            4 hours ago















          5












          $begingroup$

          Yes, you can't protect yourself



          The rule is consistent with using 'other creature' to mean 'you are not included', so with this wording you can't use Careful spell metamagic to protect yourself.



          However,



          I don't see any problem if you ruled the caster can be included. I've DM'ed and played sorcerer with Careful Spell allowed on themselves and there is no problem at all.




          This seems intentional. The wording of Sculpt Spells from Evocation Wizard also suggest the same thing:




          When you cast an evocation spell that affects other creatures that you can see, you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell’s level.




          and the tweet from Jeremy Crawford seems to suggest so




          Careful Spell and Sculpt Spells work as intended.







          share|improve this answer











          $endgroup$












          • $begingroup$
            I could argue that it is definitely intentional because at three different times it references other creatures. "Other creatures", "some of those creatures", "choose a number of those creatures"
            $endgroup$
            – Blake Steel
            4 hours ago










          • $begingroup$
            @BlakeSteel no. The 'those creatures' refer to the group mentioned previously. The previous group has been defined with an error (excluding the caster), thus all references to the defined group is error. Both wording does not clarify better whether it's intentional or not.
            $endgroup$
            – Vylix
            4 hours ago













          5












          5








          5





          $begingroup$

          Yes, you can't protect yourself



          The rule is consistent with using 'other creature' to mean 'you are not included', so with this wording you can't use Careful spell metamagic to protect yourself.



          However,



          I don't see any problem if you ruled the caster can be included. I've DM'ed and played sorcerer with Careful Spell allowed on themselves and there is no problem at all.




          This seems intentional. The wording of Sculpt Spells from Evocation Wizard also suggest the same thing:




          When you cast an evocation spell that affects other creatures that you can see, you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell’s level.




          and the tweet from Jeremy Crawford seems to suggest so




          Careful Spell and Sculpt Spells work as intended.







          share|improve this answer











          $endgroup$



          Yes, you can't protect yourself



          The rule is consistent with using 'other creature' to mean 'you are not included', so with this wording you can't use Careful spell metamagic to protect yourself.



          However,



          I don't see any problem if you ruled the caster can be included. I've DM'ed and played sorcerer with Careful Spell allowed on themselves and there is no problem at all.




          This seems intentional. The wording of Sculpt Spells from Evocation Wizard also suggest the same thing:




          When you cast an evocation spell that affects other creatures that you can see, you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell’s level.




          and the tweet from Jeremy Crawford seems to suggest so




          Careful Spell and Sculpt Spells work as intended.








          share|improve this answer














          share|improve this answer



          share|improve this answer








          edited 4 hours ago

























          answered 4 hours ago









          VylixVylix

          14.4k260163




          14.4k260163











          • $begingroup$
            I could argue that it is definitely intentional because at three different times it references other creatures. "Other creatures", "some of those creatures", "choose a number of those creatures"
            $endgroup$
            – Blake Steel
            4 hours ago










          • $begingroup$
            @BlakeSteel no. The 'those creatures' refer to the group mentioned previously. The previous group has been defined with an error (excluding the caster), thus all references to the defined group is error. Both wording does not clarify better whether it's intentional or not.
            $endgroup$
            – Vylix
            4 hours ago
















          • $begingroup$
            I could argue that it is definitely intentional because at three different times it references other creatures. "Other creatures", "some of those creatures", "choose a number of those creatures"
            $endgroup$
            – Blake Steel
            4 hours ago










          • $begingroup$
            @BlakeSteel no. The 'those creatures' refer to the group mentioned previously. The previous group has been defined with an error (excluding the caster), thus all references to the defined group is error. Both wording does not clarify better whether it's intentional or not.
            $endgroup$
            – Vylix
            4 hours ago















          $begingroup$
          I could argue that it is definitely intentional because at three different times it references other creatures. "Other creatures", "some of those creatures", "choose a number of those creatures"
          $endgroup$
          – Blake Steel
          4 hours ago




          $begingroup$
          I could argue that it is definitely intentional because at three different times it references other creatures. "Other creatures", "some of those creatures", "choose a number of those creatures"
          $endgroup$
          – Blake Steel
          4 hours ago












          $begingroup$
          @BlakeSteel no. The 'those creatures' refer to the group mentioned previously. The previous group has been defined with an error (excluding the caster), thus all references to the defined group is error. Both wording does not clarify better whether it's intentional or not.
          $endgroup$
          – Vylix
          4 hours ago




          $begingroup$
          @BlakeSteel no. The 'those creatures' refer to the group mentioned previously. The previous group has been defined with an error (excluding the caster), thus all references to the defined group is error. Both wording does not clarify better whether it's intentional or not.
          $endgroup$
          – Vylix
          4 hours ago

















          draft saved

          draft discarded
















































          Thanks for contributing an answer to Role-playing Games Stack Exchange!


          • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

          But avoid


          • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

          • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

          Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.


          To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




          draft saved


          draft discarded














          StackExchange.ready(
          function ()
          StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f145500%2fare-sorcerers-unable-to-use-the-careful-spell-metamagic-option-on-themselves%23new-answer', 'question_page');

          );

          Post as a guest















          Required, but never shown





















































          Required, but never shown














          Required, but never shown












          Required, but never shown







          Required, but never shown

































          Required, but never shown














          Required, but never shown












          Required, but never shown







          Required, but never shown







          Popular posts from this blog

          Are there any AGPL-style licences that require source code modifications to be public? Planned maintenance scheduled April 23, 2019 at 23:30 UTC (7:30pm US/Eastern) Announcing the arrival of Valued Associate #679: Cesar Manara Unicorn Meta Zoo #1: Why another podcast?Force derivative works to be publicAre there any GPL like licenses for Apple App Store?Do you violate the GPL if you provide source code that cannot be compiled?GPL - is it distribution to use libraries in an appliance loaned to customers?Distributing App for free which uses GPL'ed codeModifications of server software under GPL, with web/CLI interfaceDoes using an AGPLv3-licensed library prevent me from dual-licensing my own source code?Can I publish only select code under GPLv3 from a private project?Is there published precedent regarding the scope of covered work that uses AGPL software?If MIT licensed code links to GPL licensed code what should be the license of the resulting binary program?If I use a public API endpoint that has its source code licensed under AGPL in my app, do I need to disclose my source?

          2013 GY136 Descoberta | Órbita | Referências Menu de navegação«List Of Centaurs and Scattered-Disk Objects»«List of Known Trans-Neptunian Objects»

          Mortes em março de 2019 Referências Menu de navegação«Zhores Alferov, Nobel de Física bielorrusso, morre aos 88 anos - Ciência»«Fallece Rafael Torija, o bispo emérito de Ciudad Real»«Peter Hurford dies at 88»«Keith Flint, vocalista do The Prodigy, morre aos 49 anos»«Luke Perry, ator de 'Barrados no baile' e 'Riverdale', morre aos 52 anos»«Former Rangers and Scotland captain Eric Caldow dies, aged 84»«Morreu, aos 61 anos, a antiga lenda do wrestling King Kong Bundy»«Fallece el actor y director teatral Abraham Stavans»«In Memoriam Guillaume Faye»«Sidney Sheinberg, a Force Behind Universal and Spielberg, Is Dead at 84»«Carmine Persico, Colombo Crime Family Boss, Is Dead at 85»«Dirigent Michael Gielen gestorben»«Ciclista tricampeã mundial e prata na Rio 2016 é encontrada morta em casa aos 23 anos»«Pagan Community Notes: Raven Grimassi dies, Indianapolis pop-up event cancelled, Circle Sanctuary announces new podcast, and more!»«Hal Blaine, Wrecking Crew Drummer, Dies at 90»«Morre Coutinho, que editou dupla lendária com Pelé no Santos»«Cantor Demétrius, ídolo da Jovem Guarda, morre em SP»«Ex-presidente do Vasco, Eurico Miranda morre no Rio de Janeiro»«Bronze no Mundial de basquete de 1971, Laís Elena morre aos 76 anos»«Diretor de Corridas da F1, Charlie Whiting morre aos 66 anos às vésperas do GP da Austrália»«Morreu o cardeal Danneels, da Bélgica»«Morreu o cartoonista Augusto Cid»«Morreu a atriz Maria Isabel de Lizandra, de "Vale Tudo" e novelas da Tupi»«WS Merwin, prize-winning poet of nature, dies at 91»«Atriz Márcia Real morre em São Paulo aos 88 anos»«Mauritanie: décès de l'ancien président Mohamed Mahmoud ould Louly»«Morreu Dick Dale, o rei da surf guitar e de "Pulp Fiction"»«Falleció Víctor Genes»«João Carlos Marinho, autor de 'O Gênio do Crime', morre em SP»«Legendary Horror Director and SFX Artist John Carl Buechler Dies at 66»«Morre em Salvador a religiosa Makota Valdina»«مرگ بازیکن‌ سابق نساجی بر اثر سقوط سنگ در مازندران»«Domingos Oliveira morre no Rio»«Morre Airton Ravagniani, ex-São Paulo, Fla, Vasco, Grêmio e Sport - Notícias»«Morre o escritor Flavio Moreira da Costa»«Larry Cohen, Writer-Director of 'It's Alive' and 'Hell Up in Harlem,' Dies at 77»«Scott Walker, experimental singer-songwriter, dead at 76»«Joseph Pilato, Day of the Dead Star and Horror Favorite, Dies at 70»«Sheffield United set to pay tribute to legendary goalkeeper Ted Burgin who has died at 91»«Morre Rafael Henzel, sobrevivente de acidente aéreo da Chapecoense»«Morre Valery Bykovsky, um dos primeiros cosmonautas da União Soviética»«Agnès Varda, cineasta da Nouvelle Vague, morre aos 90 anos»«Agnès Varda, cineasta francesa, morre aos 90 anos»«Tania Mallet, James Bond Actress and Helen Mirren's Cousin, Dies at 77»e